Friday, October 16, 2009

TV Editors set up a new body

The editors of broadcast media announce the setting up of a body to strengthen the values of objective and fair broadcast journalism and to protect and promote the freedom of expression. The editors of television channels feel there is a need to evolve healthy norms, promote training of professional journalists at all levels, ensure dissemination of credible and constructive news content and to protect the right to freedom of expression, whenever threatened.

In pursuit of the above mentioned aims and objects we announce the setting up of a broadcast editors' organization under the name of Broadcast Editors' Association (BEA).

The office-bearers of the BEA are as follows:
Shazi Zaman (Star News) President
Arnab Goswami (Times Now) Vice-President
Pankaj Pachauri (NDTV) Vice-President
N K Singh (ETV) General Secretary
Sudhir Chaudhary (Live India) Treasurer
Members of Executive Committee:
Ashutosh (IBN-7), Vinay Tewari (CNN-IBN), Satish K Singh (ZEE TV), Ajit Anjum (News-24), Vinod Kapri (India TV), Sanjay Bragta (Sahara TV) and Pranjal Sharma (UTV).

The BEA will soon develop its own website so as to make direct media-public interaction possible. It will hold seminars and other modes of two-way interaction to receive feedback from civil society organizations and decision-makers in public domain.

No comments:

Post a Comment